Following a Gluten-Free or Paleo diet? Beware of Whey
For those suffering from gluten intolerance or following a paleo diet, finding the right food can be challenging. Many foods which appear to be gluten free, like gum, salad dressing, toothpaste and soy sauce, have sneaky additives derived from gluten. Protein supplements are no exception.
Whey Protein is one of the most popular supplements for athletes and the health conscious alike. It’s been proven to help people achieve quick muscle gains and speed up recovery. However, by using whey you might be unknowingly sacrificing your gluten free diet.
In its natural form whey, which comes from dairy, is completely gluten free. Unfortunately, as the whey is processed, many brands add gluten. “Glutamine” is the sneaky name for the most commonly used gluten additive. Other words to look out for on whey labels are starch, malt sugar, wheat, barley, rye, caramel color, dextrin, and maltodextrin (1). Cross-contamination is also something to be cautious of, as whey manufacturers may process wheat products at their facilities. Carefully reviewing the product’s label can help you determine if the product is safe for your consumption.
Fortunately, there is a great alternative to whey protein. At Protein Essentials, our products are gluten and dairy free, meaning you can still get the muscle gains and health benefits you want, without sacrificing your gluten free or paleo diet. Unlike whey protein which is derived from milk, collagen is the main protein found in the connective tissue of animals, making it an excellent hypoallergenic protein supplement. Make the switch to Peptan® Hydrolyzed Collagen today, after all it’s A Paleo Superfood™.
Purchase Protein Essentials Peptan® Hydrolyzed Collagen here:
Purchase Protein Essentials Perform 100- Energy & Recovery Supplement (Complete with 9 Essential Amino Acids) here:
Purchase Protein Essentials Pasture Raised Beef Gelatin here: